Hell Is Other People. Conversation #37.

Who said that?

What?

Hell is other people.

The French philosopher Sartre.

Do you think he was aware of what hell is other people really means?

I don’t know. But he was really right. Really, really right. It is a philosophical statement that is greater than Descartes I think, therefore I am.

How so?

I don’t know about you but the vast majority of suffering, stress and unhappiness that I experience on a daily basis is a result of interacting with or dealing with other people.

Hmm.

Come to think about it, the vast amount of difficulties, probably 95%, that I have encountered  in my 45 years of life were the result of dealing with other people in some way, shape or form. From the abuse of my father all the way up to my current interactions with my clients, family members and strangers- most of my suffering is the result of other people.

Or maybe your suffering is the result of your reaction to these other people?

How so?

If you didn’t care so much, if you could just have more empathy and let all the drama and bullshit go, it would not cause you as much suffering.

Hmmm. By just not caring as much?

Yeah. Other people are fucked up. We know this. Most other people are a mess. A psychological train wreck. Why get so caught up in their drama? All they know how to do is create drama and perpetuate their unhappiness. Why get tangled up in it? Just know that all these people are messed up, disturbed and don’t take their messed up behavior so personally! Just let it go and get on with your day.

Yeah. This is the trick.

Then hell will disappear. But as long as you are caught in all the drama created by troubled other people, yes- you will be in hell.

Ok. Ok. I am letting it go. I am turning off my phone. I am not going to think about all the drama anymore today. Done. I will just get on with my day. Letting it go.

Yeah. Don’t get caught up man!

It is so easy for me to get caught up.

I know. That is why you suffer so much more than you need to. Hell does not have to be other people. You just need to not get caught in the negative webs most of them are always spinning.

Point taken.

Good.

Author: kafkaesque77

It is all on the blog....

Leave a Reply

